National flag of India
    Nickname: तिरंगा (Tiranga means 'tricolour')
    Adopted: July 22, 1947
    Designer : Pingali Venkayya
    Proportion (width:length): 2:3
    Material for making: Khadi
    Flag protocol: Indian flag code

    Indian Flag - Information

    The National flag of India (affectionately called तिरंगा meaning 'tricolour') has three equal horizontal bands - the top panel is India saffron (Kesari), the bottom panel is India green and white middle band bearing at its centre the design of Ashoka Chakra in navy blue colour with 24 equally spaced spokes.

    Indian Flag - colors meaning/symbolism
    Saffron stands for renunciation, disinterestedness, courage and sacrifice
    White symbolizes truth, peace and purity
    Green represents prosperity, vibrance and life.
    The Ashok Chakra (wheel) represents the righteousness, progress and perpetuity. The 24 spokes of the wheel represents the 24 hours of a day
    Indian flag history and facts

    A flag known as 'Swaraj flag' was widely used in the final stages of Indian independence movement. It became the official flag of Congress at the 1931 meeting. To select a flag for independent India, on 23 June 1947, the Constituent Assembly set up an ad hoc committee headed by Rajendra Prasad. On 14 July 1947, the committee recommended that the flag of the Indian National Congress be adopted as the National Flag of India with suitable modifications. The spinning wheel of the Congress flag was replaced by the Chakra (wheel) from the Lion Capital of Ashoka. The National flag of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 22 July 1947, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India. The flag was subsequently retained as that of the Republic of India.
    Largest Indian Flag - information for kids
    The largest Indian national flag on the tallest mast was hoisted at the historical Pahari Mandir of Ranchi, on the occasion of Birth Anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, by Union Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar in presence of Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das and other leaders. The 60-kg flag has the dimensions of 66-feet-by-99-feet. The flag pole stands at 293-feet and is at 493-feet from the ground level.

    Indian Flag folding procedure - Facts & information for kids

    Indian Flag - History, Facts & information
    Indian flag, by law, is to be made of khadi (a type of hand-spun cloth)
    The Ashoka chakra on Indian flag was taken from the Lion capital of Ashoka. The Lion capital of Ashoka is a sculpture of four "Indian lions" standing back to back that was originally placed atop the Aśoka pillar at Sarnath by Emperor Ashoka.

    India Flag on Red Fort, Delhi
    India Flag picture
    India Flag photo
    India Flag picture
    India Flag image